Black Friday: Why have we suddenly got it ??

The Crewroom for non-FS related stuff, fun and general chat.

Moderators: Guru's, The Ministry

Paul K
Red Arrows
Red Arrows

Black Friday: Why have we suddenly got it ??

Post by Paul K »

Today, I've been looking through the various news websites and the Daily Telegraph, for which I have a subscription, and there are many reports of scuffles and altercations in shops in Britain because it's Black Friday.

From what I understand, Black Friday is the Friday after Thanksgiving Day ( a public holiday in the USA, and held on the last Thursday in November ), when people decide to skip going back to work for one day ( in the USA ) because it's the weekend approaching, and stores up and down the country ( that country being the USA ) reduce prices to stimulate Christmas shopping sales. Because of the frantic buying and unseemly scramble for bargains, the event has been dubbed Black Friday...IN THE USA.

What the hell has it got to do with the Friday after an American public holiday, here in Britain ? Why has the media latched onto this term and unthinkingly adopted it, even though it has no relevance whatsoever to this country ? It's not Black Friday here...it's just a Friday. Why is this expression suddenly everywhere you look, even in Orbx's sale announcement (and they are Australian !) ?

And while we're at it, not every damned thing is 'awesome' or 'iconic' either. Gawd, somebody rescue the English language from the Internet, please !!

:rant:
Last edited by Paul K on 28 Nov 2014, 22:29, edited 1 time in total.

TSR2
The Ministry

Re: Black Friday: Why have we suddenly got it ??

Post by TSR2 »

Here here. :rant:
Ben.:tunes:

ImageImageImage

Tako_Kichi
Concorde
Concorde

Post by Tako_Kichi »